Working in Belgium

Fairwork Belgium: Working in Belgium

Whether you are allowed to work in Belgium and which conditions apply depends on your nationality and right of residence in Belgium.

If you hold the nationality of a country in the European Union (EU) or of the European Economic Area (EEA) or Switzerland select the option ‘EU citizen’.


European Union (EU) member countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Croatia, Cyprus*, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Letland, Lithuania, Luxenbourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain and Sweden.

European Economic Area (EEA) member countries: all those in the European Union plus Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.

Although Switzerland is not a member of the EU or the EEA, the same regulations apply as for EU citizens.

*Important! Please note that only Greek Cyprus is a member of the European Union.