Domestic staff

Fairwork Belgium: Housekeeping staff

In 2011, the International Labour Organisation (ILO) approved the C189 Convention regarding dignified work for housekeeping staff. The convention was ratified by Belgium in 2015 and has been in force since 2016.

The C189 Convention recognises housekeeping staff as fully fledged employees and establishes certain employment rights for such employees, including a minimum wage, access to social security, etc. In this convention, we also find the definition of housekeeping work and staff once more:

  • Housekeeping work: work that is carried out indoors or for one or more families
  • Housekeeper: a person who carries out domestic work in the framework of an employment relationship.

Based on these definitions, we identify three different employment statuses for housekeeping staff in Belgium. The conditions of employment and minimum wages differ from one status to another. If you would like more information about statuses, click on the one you wish to find out more about.

blank
  • All housekeeping staff have employment rights, even if they have no legal residence. If you do not have a residence permit and work as housekeeping staff, you have the same employment rights as a housekeeper.
  • Au pairs: in legal terms, an au pair is not an employee, however they do still have rights. You can find more information here.

Personnel Domestique

Fairwork Belgium: Domestic workers

En 2011, l'Organisation internationale du travail (OIT) a adopté la Convention C189 relative au travail décent pour les travailleurs domestiques. Cette Convention a été ratifiée en 2015 par la Belgique et est en vigueur depuis 2016.

La convention C189 reconnaît les travailleurs domestiques comme des travailleurs à part entière et énonce certains droits du travail pour ce type de travailleurs, tels que le salaire minimum, l'accès à la sécurité sociale, etc. La convention contient également une définition du travail domestique et des travailleurs domestiques :

  • Travail domestique : désigne le travail effectué au sein de ou pour un ou plusieurs ménages
  • Travailleur domestique : désigne toute personne de genre féminin ou masculin exécutant un travail domestique dans le cadre d'une relation de travail.

Sur la base de ces définitions, retrouvons nous en Belgique trois statuts différents pour le personnel domestique. Les conditions de travail et les minimums salariaux applicables varient entre statuts. Si tu souhaites plus d'information sur les différents statuts, clique sur le nom du statut qui t’intéresse pour le consulter plus en détails.

blank
  •  Tout personnel domestique a des droits en tant que travailleur, c'est aussi le cas si tu n'as pas de séjour légal . Si tu n'as pas de titre de séjour et que tu travailles comme personnel domestique, tu as les mêmes droits du travail qu'un travailleur domestique.
  • Au pair: Juridiquement parlant un au pair n'est pas un travailleur mais a néanmoins toujours des droits. Tu peux trouver plus d'information ici.